Best Overdrive

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Overdrive

I'm looking for opinions on an overdrive to add to a JCM2000. Doesn't matter if it's a pedal or effects processor. Are pedals with a 12ax7 still popular?

TIA

I love the Plexitube - but its not really an Overdrive. Tubescreamer, Distortion + both work for screaming up your preamp.
    -------------------------
    Blank yo!

Comment

http://protonepedals.com/?p=83

Ive been using this for a few years with my Marshall. My Fave...
      "Now remember, things look bad and it looks like you're not gonna make it, then you gotta get mean. I mean plumb, mad-dog mean. 'Cause if you lose your head and you give up then you neither live nor win. That's just the way it is. ":JOSEY WALES

Comment

Thanks guys. I want to generate feedback swells with it and not add to the distortion which is already pretty extreme.

Comment

Tusescreamers and bad monkey? pedals seem popular.

I go straight into my DSL100 without pedals and love it.

Maybe explain in more detail what's not working?

Comment

Tubescreamer and Boss SD-1 (the yellow one) for me. Both rock! But favorite is my Tubescreamer.
            JB aka BenoA

Clips and other tunes by BenoA / My Soundcloud page / My YouTube page
            Guitar And Sound (GAS) forum / Boss Katana Amps FB group

Comment

Originally posted by DonP View Post
              Maybe explain in more detail what's not working?

I like the distortion I get from my amp but I don't get any feedback--even if I stand next to the speakers and aim the strings parallel to the sound output. Refer to Satriani’s Flying in a Blue Dream as an example. I was thinking a nice tube overdrive would give me the ability to generate feedback on demand and that I could turn the pedal off when I didn't want feedback swells. My tone is really heavy (like Pantera) and is almost clipping so I wouldn't want to add more distortion if that makes sense.

Comment

Originally posted by DonP View Post