No announcement yet.

Another Noob with a tube question.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another Noob with a tube question.....

Hey guys, I'm new to doing anything but playing through a tube amp. One of the power tubes in a Peavey VK100 is burnt out, and I've been researching as much as I can about replacing them. So far I've found: replace them all, when one goes, the others are soon to follow. Its also a fixed bias head, so no problem after the swap.
    Now my problem. I need to get 4 6L6 tubes, question is, I can't find anyone local store with a matched quad, and they're unsure about mixing brands. Can I run 2 different pairs, ie- 2 matched Groove Tubes, and 2 Electro Harmonics? Or is it a MUST for a quad set? I've read opinions here that 'tubes are tubes' etc, but I'm experimenting with tone, and I don't know if brands can be mixed, I'd rather be safe than sorry, so thanks in advance.
    "illegal downloading saved people from having to buy that piece of shit you tried to pass off as music" - Nighbat

When I first go my DSL100, one of the tubes died (infant death). Since the other three were still new, I just grabbed another Svet tube and went with it. No problems 12 years later still on the same tubes. Still sounding great.

The next time a tube dies on me, or I have sound quality issues, I'll replace the entire set.

Comment

Thank you very much sir!
      "illegal downloading saved people from having to buy that piece of shit you tried to pass off as music" - Nighbat

Comment

You know, when I was looking for a tube amp this is EXACTLY why I passed up the Peaveys... Fixed bias plus NO info about what tubes are recommended replacements in the manual or anywhere I could find...

Call their customer support and tell them you want to know which Groove Tubes would be the best ones to put in there, or, where to get replacement tubes, etc.

Or check with some other owners who have already done the experimentation for you.