ultimate 80s style distortion-overdrive pedal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ultimate 80s style distortion-overdrive pedal

Hey there...I've posted similar questions in the past...but I'm getting things tweaked with my setup, and I'm at the point where I have everything i need. The only question is, do I want to stick with the amp's distortion or go for something else.

So right now I'm running a Line 6 Spider Valve 212 (Bogner)....with an additional Mesa Boogie 1x12 cabinet attached. The amp itself's got a million models and a bunch of different effects (including distortion). My current set of pedals includes the following: I've got a Boss compressor/sustainer; Boss EQ; MXR Phase 90; and a Decimator noise gate. Delay, Chorus, and Distortion are coming from the amp.

My first question is...and maybe somebody can finally put this in terms that I understand...what the hell is the difference between distortion and overdrive? I've been playing for over 25 years, and never really got it. There are both distortion and overdrive pedals...some people use one, some use the other, and some use both. This confuses the hell out of me.

Anyway...I'm quite content with the delay and chorus built right into the amp...so I'm not too concerned with purchasing pedals that will do the same thing. However, with distortion, it's always a big question. I don't hate what the amp provides...but I'm not completely thrilled either. I'm really going for a 80's style sound...sort of George Lynch meets, Nuno, meets Satriani.
    Does anyone know of just one pedal that really captures this (and then, of course, how do you set it up - i.e. what are it's settings).

I'd really appreciate any comments. Please note, I really am not going to go the all in one pedal board (i.e. Boss GT10, etc) route...and I just don't have the time or need to go with rack effects). So with what I have right now, I'm thinking of just adding a distortion pedal...but I want all killer or nothing.