Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Mesa 50/50 & ADA MP1 - What cab & speakers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mesa 50/50 & ADA MP1 - What cab & speakers?

Hi, im relatively new to rack set-ups having only used combo's before. Can anyone tell me what speaker/cab combination would work best with the above. One of my concerns is having speakers more powerful than the amp as in the world of hifi you can damage the speakers running an amp at less wattage.

Oh and by the way i play metal

thanks
    Paul
    Last edited by Monkeychunki; 11-14-2010, 12:53 PM. Reason: add text

50/50 will do fine with any speaker.V30's would work great.
    Really? well screw Mark Twain.

Comment

Originally posted by Monkeychunki View Post
      One of my concerns is having speakers more powerful than the amp as in the world of hifi you can damage the speakers running an amp at less wattage.

Oh and by the way i play metal
      High speaker wattage should not be an issue. 50 watts tube is incredibly loud and it can peak well above that. You want the overall speaker wattage to be above the 50 watts...either by having more than 1 speaker hooked up (like in a 4x12 cab) or a single high wattage speaker. I have a 50/50 and have used a single 12 in rated at 150 watts without any probs, also used it with various 2x12 cabs on the other channel ranging from 100 to 150 watt rating. I never had it maxed out with the single 1x12, but sounded great without blowing out at at least 75% of max.

BTW, I love my mesa 50/50. It was my first piece of quality rack gear I bought over a decade ago and is my cornerstone of a kickass metal rig...also, as it happened, it was my first Ebay purchase! I have other amp heads I bought years later, but the 50/50 quenched my rack urges.
      "Your work is ingenius…it’s quality work….and there are simply too many notes…that’s all, just cut a few, and it’ll be perfect."

Comment

Fantastic thanks for the info

Comment