Mini Rectifier in da house!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mini Rectifier in da house!

So I got my Mesa Boogie Mini Rectifier today. Very good deal and quick shipping from http://www.theguitarshop.ca/

Brand new unopened box:

I barely played with it. Only a few minutes. Went through the different options very quickly and spent 95% of those few minutes on the distortion channel.

Tried it with 2 guitars: my EBMM JP6 and a Godin LG Summit with a 59' in the bridge. 4x12 cab was a Peavey Triple XXX.

On the distortion channel, I dig both the modern and vintage option. The vintage one does the classic rock/80s sound very well.

The modern adds more meat to it but not to the extreme (to my ears).

I have no experience with Mesa amps, this one is my first but I do play ocasionnaly on a beat-up Single Rectifier at the rehearsal room we rent every 2 weeks.

The Mini Mesa is tight and dry, doesn't feel "greasy" like my Peavey 6505. It has less gain too than the 6505 and less fizz/buzzing that you can hear in the 6505 distortion.

Does the Mini Recto has enough gain? For me yes, I was mostly setting it around 1 to 3 o'clock and I haven't tried it boosted with a Tube screamer but I bet some players out there will prefer their Mini Recto boosted for that added gain. But as I only played it at low volume, may be cranking it will give it even more oomph. BTW, this lil' amp is quite loud (wife told me so ). Even on the 10 watts setting. And flipping the switch to 25 watts shows that it got some volume to spare! I will add to my report once I will have tried it with a drummer, I hope to be able by next week (having some band mates schedule issues these days).

I could add that this "10/25 watts" all-tube amp over a 4x12 is way too loud to be enjoyed playing at what folks on the internet call "tv volume"... The Mini Recto wants to be cranked!