Digitech metal master vs Boss DS1 and MD2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Digitech metal master vs Boss DS1 and MD2

I currently have a Metal Master but I'm not liking it as much anymore. I think it's because I hate the sound with the morph knob turned past 12 o'clock, it sounds too fake. I want something a bit less one dimensional so to speak, so I've been looking at some CL deals, one is selling a MD2 for $40 and another a DS1 for $20. Problem is that I haven't heard either or other than youtube videos. My guitar is a PS-4 with stock pickups and my amp is a sorry ass Ibanez 10 watt practice amp. I live in an apt building and 10 watts is loud enough to annoy the neighbors, plus I'm a noob only been playing for 6 months now.

I "play" metal of course, but I also like hard rock and been getting into other stuff that doesn't rely much on heavy distortion. I really like Opeth's Heritage tone but I don't think I can achieve that with a distortion pedal. What you guys recommend?

My advice would be to save your $$$ and get a real amp. You will get a much heavier and true overdriven tone that you can't get out of any distortion pedal. If you look around, you can usually find used tube-driven combo Marshalls, Mesas, Peaveys, ENGLs, etc. for a decent price. Even if it's a small combo, it will be much louder than your current practice amp, but you should be able to get it to a reasonable volume. I've had many distortion pedals and this is really the only way to get a good "true" metal tone in my experience.

If that's out of the question, I would reccommend an effects processor. Especially given your experience, ZOOM makes some nice processors that handle everything and are very affordable, and you can usually plug some headphones directly into many of their units.

Comment