NPD (new processor day): Line 6 Helix LT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NPD (new processor day): Line 6 Helix LT

I've been using my Boss GT-6 & Mesa DC-2 rig for about 15 years. Like a comfortable worn-in pair of shoes, I stuck with that combination and stopped following developments in musical gear (and the GAS it stimulates) until last year when I went on a guitar-buying binge. (You've seen all my NGD posts.)

By now, I figure I have enough great guitars that I should really be focusing my attention and finances on new tone-related products (or better yet, PLAYING AND PRACTICING). There is a dizzying array of new technology, including better processors, plugins, amp sim software, etc.

Tonight, I noticed my local branch of Long & McQuade (Canada's big music chain) had a barely-used, open box Line 6 Helix LT for CAD$1099 (USD$875.28) + HST. Impulsively, I bought it. This is my first ever Line 6 product.

Compared to the GT-6, I'm impressed with the Helix LT's intuitive interface and the CLARITY of sound. The GT-6 has always been slightly awkward to program, and even though I have one favorite tone that stuck with me, personally I don't find many of its amp sims useful due to the unit's "muffled" overall sound like there's a blanket over every tone it produces.

I have 30 days to play around with the Helix LT if I want to return it for a full refund. I really don't NEED more gear, but if I can replicate my favorite tone (without the muffle) then I might consider it worth the pricey upgrade after 15 years. If I return it, I could always try a used Line 6 HD500 or HD500X, which is less than half the price of this Helix LT.

Any Helix or Helix LT users here? How do you like your units? What are you comparing them to?

Last edited by Number Of The Priest; 08-26-2017, 07:52 PM.