Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Impedance on madison cab + Mesa 50/50 (answered)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Impedance on madison cab + Mesa 50/50 (answered)

Guys, really need your help here:

I have a Mesa 50/50. This has two 4 ohm outputs and one 8 ohm output for each channel.

Also I have a Madison Cab. It has two 16 ohm stereo inputs or one 8 ohm mono input.

It seems to me like running the setup in mono would be no problem. However I am not sure about stereo. My specific questions are:

1) If I connect the cab as it is in stereo, that is, put a load of 16 ohms to each channel of the Mesa, will I blow it?

2) If it doesnt blow, what will happen to my tone?. I imagine that putting the 16 ohm load will draw less power from the tubes and therefore most likely kill my tone but I have no experience to tell...

Thanks, help is very much appreciated, really need it here.

[ April 23, 2003, 04:57 PM: Message edited by: rodrigo_echeverri ]

Re: Impedance on madison cab + Mesa 50/50 (answered)

I also am a proud owner of the mesa 50/50!

Sure is a piece of art, a?

Here is my suggestion and explanation...

I bought a classic B marshall cab with 4x25W speakers. I really was fascinated by the sound and the price of the cab.
    Everything sounded great!
    But it was mono!

And i was just in buying a mesa 50/50!

What to do!
    I went to y local tech that specializes in cab repairments and he told me that was nothing of a problem if i wish to epiriment a bit, and not to be afraid of blowing mesa neither the cabs.

The speakers are 16 ohms, right?
    And they are connected through mono output(which basicly represents the input from your poweramp in to the cab, right? And that is mono!
    So what he would do is to connect a 2 pairs of 16 ohms speakers separetaly (2x 2x25W speakers) with two separated inputs.
    And with your mesa being stereo that is ultra fine if you ask me!