Good pedal or FX for Beginner?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Good pedal or FX for Beginner?

I'm new to guitars and am looking at buying either a pedal or effects processor... I'm currently using a small amp and would like to get "a bit more" out of my guitar and make it that much more entertaining to play. I've looked at everything from a stompbox to a multi-button board and am just not sure as to what I need or what is massive overkill... While I'm gunning for a nice and heavy metal sound, I'm also not opposed to playing other things.

Any and all advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

P.S. - So far I've been looking at the Digitech RP50 through to the GNX1 as well as the Boss MT-2 and ME-50... It's a wide range...

Re: Good pedal or FX for Beginner?

I'm guessing you're going through one of those small practice combos and there's really not much you can do with those, unfortunately. About the best you can do is use a good distortion pedal (Boss DS-1 and Metal Zone are good for this) with an EQ (Boss GE-7 does the job). Other than that all I can recommend is a better amp. It's an endless cycle, believe me. I've been playing about nine years now and still don't have the sound I want. [img]graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]

Comment

BM is right, a good distortion pedal would be the first thing I would consider. I wouldn't look into any expensive procesorrs or stuff until you have a better amp to run them through.

That being said, Boss IMO, makes some great pedals that are suited for beginners, and pros alike. They sound great ,at least to me, and aren't too expensive.

Now if you have a distorted sound out of your amp that you like, A chorus pedal for clean stuff is a pretty decent first pedal, or a delay can be pretty fun also. It really depends on what your are into and what you want to do.