What's the best way?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's the best way?

I have a Rockmaster Preamp and a TCE G-Major. I have 2 options to run into my VHT2902. What would you recommend to get a better tone, crunch, and balls?

1. Rockmaster 0 db pre-output > TCE G-Major input > TCE G-Major output > VHT. (According to techs at TCE, the G Major likes a low level input to not overload it.)

2. Use the Common send/return loop of the Rockmaster into the TCE G-Major's input/output > slam the VHT with a +10 db pre-output from the Rockmaster.

BTW, Rockmaster has 2 pre-outs - 0db and +10db. The VHT is new and I haven't hooked a cab up yet. Tommorrow is the first gig with it.

Bonus question [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
    Should I run 16 ohms into my 5150 4X12 or 8 ohms into my Marshall 1960? How will the VHT sound best?

Re: What\'s the best way?

As always, it's best just to experiment and find what works and sounds best to you. What can get frustrating, though, is the G-Major's levels. You will most likely have to do a good bit of tweaking the Input/Output levels, both internally and externally on the knobs, in order to get it to sound its best in either situation. If you need help with that, we're here for ya. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

I can't remember, been a while since I had a Rockmaster, does it have a stereo or mono loop? Personally, I prefer to keep things in "stereo", run the outputs of my preamp into my G-Major, stereo through everything else, then into my 2 stacked Marshall 1960 4x12s in stereo as well. Something about it just feels bigger to me that way, and if I have stereo effects going on in the G-Major it seems kinda stoopid to not take advantage of hearing that through the cabs. That's just me hehe.