THD Yellow Jacket Tube Converters

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• THD Yellow Jacket Tube Converters

Has anyone here used THD yellow jackets before and if so how did you like them going from 6L6 to EL-84's?
    shawnlutz.com

Re: THD Yellow Jacket Tube Converters

i've heard nothing but good reviews of them.

i have never used them before, but my amp is el84 equipped and i love it.

~JW
    Widow - "We have songs"

http://jameslugo.com/johnewooteniv.shtml

http://ultimateguitarsound.com

Comment

You really have to know what you're looking for to make a decision on these things. If you're familiar with the characteristics of EL84s, and want to add those characteristics to your amp, then you already know if you would like them or not.

If you don't know what EL84s are like in the first place, I would wonder why you would even be considering using them instead of 6L6s in your amp hehehe.

I have a VHT 2-50-2 power amp, normally runs on EL34/6L6, and also a Mesa 20/20 EL84 power amp. I liked some of the sound and feel characteristics of the Mesa. I wasn't as thrilled with the VHT, but really liked its features, so I wondered if using Yellow Jackets to change the VHT over to using EL84s would give it some of the characteristics of the EL84s in the Mesa that I liked. Got em...worked like a charm, better than I had expected. If you want to ditch some of the 6L6 characteristics for EL84 characteristics, the Yellow Jackets should do a great job for you. Plus, you can go for the "power reducing" style and get a little more kick at slightly lower volumes. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

Stu

Comment

Originally posted by StuTDavis:
        You really have to know what you're looking for to make a decision on these things. If you're familiar with the characteristics of EL84s, and want to add those characteristics to your amp, then you already know if you would like them or not.