Having trouble dialing in good tone in shops

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Having trouble dialing in good tone in shops

I'm no amp guru by any means. But when I play a guitar through an amp at a music store, I cannot dial in a good tone to save my life. I thought trying out a Marshall MG50 would sound very similar to my own Marshall G50RCD, but I couldn't get it to sound like mine. I tried the Mesa F30 and Mesa Mark I and still couldn't get a good tone. Even my brother said the tone sucked.

Would it be because I'm playing at "considerate" volume levels as not to disturb the other shoppers? Do I really have to crank these amps (to the chagrin of the shopkeepers and customers) to make them sound good?

Or did I just happen to score a seemingly non-existent killer Marshall G50RCD four years ago when I started playing? I can always dial in a huge tone with that amp at any volume level, although I typically only play at rehearsal/jamming levels or lower. [img]/images/graemlins/scratchhead.gif[/img]

Thus, I haven't had the courage to try many amps in stores, especially not a halfstack or fullstack. Thus, I don't know if saying that "all new Marshalls suck" is true or not, because I apparently found one that is just so ME, and it was my first amp!

I still don't know why my bottom of the line Marshall combo sounds so wicked. [img]/images/graemlins/scratchhead.gif[/img] And I don't know why I can't even get a Mesa F30 and Mesa Mark I, both supposedly killer amps, to sound good, whether I'm trying to copy my Marshall tone or not!

Frustrated. [img]/images/graemlins/crazy.gif[/img]

Re: Having trouble dialing in good tone in shops

Don't feel bad - every Marshall "killer amp" I've tried in a store with my Les Paul Standard sounded brittle and farty - from the small combos to the 4x12 with 100W head.