Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with Amp (Mode Four)

Heya Guys,
    I have a mode four here, (yes, I know not everyone is too fond of this amp [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]), and there seems to be a bit of a problem with it. I can turn it on, and the powerlight comes on, however none of the lights which show which channel it is on come on, and the amp makes no sound, also no lights appear on the footswitch. Anyone have any idea what the problem is? I'm not very good with amp/tech stuff, so I have no idea.

Any additional information you need, just ask, but if I can get to the bottom of this, it'd be helpful,
    Thanks,
    Jonny

Re: Problem with Amp (Mode Four)

Check for an internal fuse. If an internal fuse blows your power light will still work. Internal fuses are usually board mounted. If your external fuse was blown nothing would light up.

Comment

Ah, does the internal fuse look like a regular fuse from a plug then?

Comment

Yes. It should be ceramic but it might be glass. They will be clipped into fuse clips that are mounted directly on one of the circuit boards.

Comment

Don't touch both sides of the fuse with the amp plugged in. Trust me on this one, it kinda hurts....a bit. [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
          Sleep!!, That's where I'm a viking!!

http://www.myspace.com/grindhouseadtheband

Comment

Ah, I'm gonna try this later tonight, and er.. You've scared me now Zeegler.. ..it's not fatal is it?

Comment

Generally not fatal but you might be twitching a bit for the evening [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Comment

Touching both sides of the fuse block could very well be fatal, as its likely that the B+ (main internal power) fuse may be blown. If so:

1) Something caused it to blow: most of the time its a bad power tube.
                2) The amp may use in excess of 450 volts and draw more than 400ma (nearly 1/2 amp) of current: plenty to kill instantly.