Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can I put 2 JJ KT-88s in my 50 watt Marshall?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I put 2 JJ KT-88s in my 50 watt Marshall?

...without damaging stuff?

Help, amp novice here. Amp is my old Marshall 4210 1x12 JCM800 combo. Has been my main amp since 1985, and was modded with an extra 12ax7 for gain around 1991. Last summer, no sound, I believed that the 2 Groove Tube 6550s had finally died (have not ever changed the tubes, IIRC these were the tubes that have been in the amp since 1985 (or possibly 1990).
    OK. I just bought a matched pair of JJ KT88 tubes. Was planning on putting them in there and getting the amp rebiased...BUT...I just read in the other KT88 thread that 2 of em equal 100 watts. Give me the straight dope, amp experts! [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

Thanks
    "Quiet, numbskulls, I'm broadcasting!" -Moe Howard, "Micro-Phonies" (1945)

Re: Can I put 2 JJ KT-88s in my 50 watt Marshall?

Yeah they will probably fry the transformer Ron. The 6550 puts out less output wattage than the KT88's do. You should stick with 6550's just to be safe. Just out of curiousity though, are those the stock tubes that amp is supposed to use? I would have expected two EL34's for that amp. If they aren't stock the 6550's may have killed your transformer by being a bit to much.
    We must!
    We must!
    We must increase the bust!
    The bigger the better!
    The tighter the sweater!
    The boys are counting on us!

Comment

Crap. What about this info?

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/...hreadid=843579

Comment

They are two different tubes. The specs for each aren't exactly the same. They lump them together because a quartet of these tubes will yeild over 100 watts.
        We must!
        We must!
        We must increase the bust!
        The bigger the better!
        The tighter the sweater!
        The boys are counting on us!

Comment