Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

looking to put a rack together for the first time?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• looking to put a rack together for the first time?

the thread about the marshall jmp1 inspiried me to look into this type of thing. Im totally new to the whole thing and its really tempting to have an amp head, a wireless unit (maybe), and maybe a multieffects unit into one consoloted into one space. carring a bunch of individual things is not my style

This being said, what are some good units?

Im looking to use the rack straight into my cab, im not really big on using a head because thats just one extra thing to carry. this being said, im still open to using it. Lemme hear you guy's thoughts

right now i have a 5150 head (needs to be retubed)
    and a marshal 1960a cabinet.
    www.soundclick.com/patricklukens

www.myspace.com/patricklukens

Re: looking to put a rack together for the first t

Here are some basic points in regards to racks:

Pros
    -Sonic clarity that cannot be matched by a few foot pedals.
    -Nearly endless programming and tonal possibilities.
    -Unit is prewired and ready to play within seconds.
    -Never fuss around with batteries seconds before a gig.
    -Stereo!

Cons
    -Racks can be addictive and have been known to grow way too big.
    -Such fine tuning and programming is not everyone’s cup of tea.
    -Still more expensive than a few foot pedals.
    -More weight to carry around to a gig.

That said the choice is yours. Thankfully what only the top Guitar Gods could afford in the 80’s has come down in price so much that nearly everyone can put a rack together with even a smallish budget.

Do not be sucked into purchasing some 22-space NASA looking fridge on wheels just because Player XXX has one. Buy only what you really need and go from there.