Best Combo Amp?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Combo Amp?

I want a new practice amp for the 2006 DK2 I plan to buy this week. I've had enough Crates and I don't really care for my Peavey TransTube 258 EFX anymore.

I'm looking at a Roland Cube 30/60 (everybody who owns one seems to love them) or a Marshall MG 50/30 DFX. I have no experience with Behringer, Randall, Line 6, or Vox but I'm willing to try anything. I appreciate any recommendations.

Re: Best Combo Amp?

That Fender G-DEC is also way cool for a practice amp. It's actually a lot more versatile and useful for a practice amp than the cube 30 (which i own).
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eKgPY1adc0A

Comment

the distortion on those GDEC is really noisy though, and alot more expensive than a cube

Comment

Buy a Korg PX-4 and run it into your current amp or your stereo or whatever. It's badass

Comment

I've got a Marshall MG15CDR and a Line 6 Spider II 30.

I like the tone on the Line 6 better, and it's got four channels as opposed to two on the Marshall. The built in delay on the Line 6 is pretty cool, too. You can set delay time just by pressing a button at the tempo you want.

However, the chorus and reverb on the Line 6 sound really "digital" and thins out the sound, IMHO.

Hope this helps, but the best judge for tone is your own ears, so get over to a music store and jam out on the display models [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
          Until you get weaned off the boobie, you are going to have to do what the wife wants too. -Rsmacker

Comment

I have 2 MG Marshalls a Crate and a Peavey Ultra Tube (all tube).

All but the Peavey are Solid State. I gotta say go for a tube amp. I couldn't believe the difference. [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Comment

Small tube combos are a nice way to go. eventually after going thru a few solid state amps almost everyone winds up with a tube amp.
              I say the boy ain't right!

Comment