Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tube amps, distortion: coarse/tight... recommendations, thoughts?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tube amps, distortion: coarse/tight... recommendations, thoughts?

Okay here's my problem guys...

I've been using a JCM2000 TSL100 head and 1960a cab for the past 5 years. So far it has been great for what I've been doing, however, with IGNITOR it is turning out to have some tonal issues that are really bothering not only me, but the band.

A few weeks ago I put all new GT EL34's (rated 8) and JJ/Tesla ECC803S's (high gain) in it. The new tubes made it sound better, but they didn't solve the core problem. Here's the core problem:

Much of IGNITOR's guitar work is intricate and tight, much like Megadeth, Priest, Maiden, etc. and because of that, my tone needs to be very tight. Not necessarily über-saturated with gain (ala Triple Rectifier) but just TIGHT distortion-wise. The thing is that my TSL100 distortion seems to be very coarse - the distortion waves are kinda "gappy" if that makes any sense. I suppose if you could look at the waveform they'd be wider than what I am looking for. The effect this is having on my sound is that when I strike a note on my string the actual "strike" isn't heard instantaneously in the speakers. It's got a strange, slightly off-time or delayed feel to it. As you can imagine, in fast, intricate playing this is really screwing up the whole vibe.

Anyone here dealt with this issue? Have you got any suggestions as to what other amps I might try out? I'm not into that scooped midrange sound. What I'm after is a really tight, very strong, beefy tone that will cut through the rest of the band clearly without having to be cranked to ear-bleeding levels.

I appreciate your input! (no pun intended!)

Any pedals out front? This sounds crazy, but could a metalzone pedal in front smooth it out?