Digitech Whammy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Digitech Whammy

Is this pedal mainly for guitars that dont have a tremelo system, or can it be used to enhance the effect of your whammy bar?

Anyone here have one?

Tremolo or not, it doesn't really matter.
    To me it goes way beyond the bending range of a tremolo. We're talking octave up and octave down bends here.

Comment

you can get some cool pedal steel sounds too. there's a bunch of pitch shift settings where toe down will be up a 4th, and you can switch to a 3rd up with the heel down. or just make cool noises like suicide note pt 2. i still think one of the coolest whammy riffs is nothing is not by morbid angel.
      EAOS: 28JUN09

Comment

Nothing to do with tremolo's these things, the most fun I've had with an effect! When I started playing I wanted a wah, it was the quintessential effect. 14 years later I got a whammy and it deserves to be just as respected! I've played with all the effects, but the whammy is the most fun imo!

Comment

Originally posted by bibz
          Nothing to do with tremolo's these things, the most fun I've had with an effect! When I started playing I wanted a wah, it was the quintessential effect. 14 years later I got a whammy and it deserves to be just as respected! I've played with all the effects, but the whammy is the most fun imo!
          I agree!

Comment

To answer the original question, in some aspects you could use it to get some trem effects. The reissue of the original whammy has a "dive bomb" setting. Doesn't sound exactly like a real bar dive bombing, but close enough. Then of course, you can do scoops and other stuff with that setting. Combine the pedal with a trem equipped guitar and you can make some really obnoxious sounds. All in all, a great pedal, although I don't use mine too much anymore.
            EAOS: 28JUN09

Comment