Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Small-ish Amp conundrum

Hi all, first post here.

I have a slight problem and would like any amount of input to help me solve it . I may as well lay out the background as to give you the idea of my maybe rather trivial predicament.

I've been playing bass on and off for a few years now until a few months ago I decided to pick up a cheap £100 Stagg electric guitar. I play the guitar through a Line6 toneport which I also bought a while ago. So anyways, I've been playing the guitar loads recently and decided to upgrade to a Jackson KE3 as the £100 Stagg sounded rather bad. Now I'm fed up of having to use headphones when I play my guitar, and would like to buy an amp to play through instead. Only problem is, I don't have THAT much money to buy one with, so I'd guess it would have to be less than £200 (about $300?). Also, we don't have hardly any music shops in town and the ones we do have only carry very limited stocks of mostly rubbish, so it isn't like I could just pop into one and test their range .

I also have a specification as to which I would need and like to meet:
    • Must be powerful enough to be heard over my drummer friend whom I jam with pretty often. I'm guessing ATLEAST 30watts? He doesn't play that loud really, but the room is pretty small.
    • I mainly play metal and hard rock, so I'd like something that sounded great with overdrive and distortion.. I'm not too bothered if the clean channel isn't too good.
    • Something available in the UK. I know some people here recommend Crate amps, but I haven't seen them for sale on any UK online retailers.
    • I can forsee myself doing small gigs in the not-so-distant future, so I'd like something that's giggable.. I'm guessing it'd probably need to be mic'd though?
    • I'm not bothered about built in effects at all. I have access to loads with my toneport and I never use them.