X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone played the new marshall jvm?

just wondering how they sound.
    Its a complete catastrophe. But Im a professional, I can rise above it. LOL

I'm guessing between the Valvestate Series and the JCM Series?
    "Better to Die Quickly Fighting on Your Feet
    Than to Live Forever Begging on You Knees."-LoG

R.I.P.
    Dimebag Darrell
    Chuck Schuldiner
    Cliff Burton

Comment

they're getting mixed reviews in rig-talk.com and harmony-central

Comment

Played a Vintage Modern yesterday with my PRS and the store's PRS. My take is that it is a one trick pony. What I mean by that is that, I would set the knobs one way and leave them that way for the duration of my ownership of the amp (assuming I would buy one - I wouldn't). I couldn't find a way to set the knobs where I'd have a nice lead AND a nice rhythm tone. Definitely needs to be opened up. As typical of most tube amps, the higher up on the master the better it sounded. Gain is JCM 800ish level. Has Cascading JCM 900ish gain setup but, the VM sounds better than a 900 (SL-X is a different story though).

So to sum up, one pretty good tone once you dial it in but, it's a compromise between lead and rhythm tone. Depending how you set it, it'll sound better for one, more than the other. No way around that without using a pedal that I can see. Needs volume, so the 50 Watt version is probably a better idea (I tried the 100 Watt), for gigging too. The purple tolex looks cool.

Also, both the store manager and one employee were disappointed that there was no spring reverb onboard, it's a DSP based one. I personally could care less about that. Lexicon reverbs anyone Not saying that it's a lexicon but, digital reverb is not a bad thing to me personally. I hate the sounds of the springs going boing and thwack everytime I hit a bump in my car or move the position of the amp where I'm playing anyways
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qFn-5BTQ8uU

Comment