Boogie Masters out there...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Boogie Masters out there...

So, last week, I got a hold of a Roadster. First of all, this amp is just a blast. When I play at home, I play stuff that is much different then when I am playing with other people. The problem is that I am having a small issue tightening up the distortion for more Progressive/Thrash metal type tone (Nevermore, Arch-Enemy, Lamb of God, Iced Earth)

Now, I am new to the whole tube realm and I want to get away from using my Digitech 2101. But, since I cannot quite get the tone that I am looking for, I am forced to use the Roadster as strictly a poweramp stage. I did add a Tung-Sol to the V1 stage which seemed to help a a ton but, it is not quite there when I am playing more hardcore stuff.

So, to the point....

What is the holy grail setup to be running infront of the amp and in the loop inorder to get that tight rhythm tone that people seem to be getting from the recto series. Could some of you Mesa Thrash/Powermetal gods please inform me of my major malfunction?

-Nate

Sorry if you guys see this message on the boogie board. Just looking for as many tips as possible.
    Last edited by nateb; 05-07-2007, 03:39 PM.
    Insert annoying equipment list here....

Simple. A Maxon OD-808 (or AnalogMan modded TS9), or some other TS- variant, and dial for a while. You'll be fine.
    Division - American Metal that doesn't suck. Much. Even on Facebook.

Comment

Originally posted by eaeolian View Post
      Simple. A Maxon OD-808 (or AnalogMan modded TS9), or some other TS- variant, and dial for a while. You'll be fine.
      +1
      The od-808 is the "go to pedal" for what you describe
      "Now remember, things look bad and it looks like you're not gonna make it, then you gotta get mean. I mean plumb, mad-dog mean. 'Cause if you lose your head and you give up then you neither live nor win. That's just the way it is. ":JOSEY WALES

Comment