A new live rig for me???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A new live rig for me???

Most of you guys know me. I have been through every amp pretty much on the planet. My current live rig is a Vetta with stereo cabinets. I have been using it live, in the studio and at rehearsal for the last 18 months.
    Not a hiccup, great reliable tone, set up is a breeze and it records really well. Its also extremely versatile. blah blah blah....

I want to go back to a traditional tube amp rig. I am thinking of a 2 amp rig with an amp switcher. What I want to use is a Marshall DSL100 for the high gain and crunch tones with a volume pedal and an old Rocktron original Intellifex in the loop and a Marshall JCM900 with a Digitech TSR24 in the loop for the clean tones. I want to control both amps with a channel switcher and pump them through 2 Marshall JCM800 cabs. I will throw a Morley Bad Horsie 2 out in front.

Basically.. I want to create a tone that I could call my own for our next recording instead of using a modeler that somebody else created. I would like it to be a little more gritty and personal. I am really digging the DSL100 and I have always been a huge fan of the JCM900 (although most people can't stand the 900 series)

For recording my band is going to use Protools, some various live amps and I was thinking about a Pod X3 bean which seems like a Vetta without the power section.

What do you guys thing??

I still think you need to try a Randall MTS system. Might even abate your GAS a bit... since you can switch out the preamps and get your favorite combo of tones. Get the rackmount head and power amp, then you can run any two pair of octal tubes in the power section (KT88, KT90, EL34, KT66, 6L6, 5881, 6V6) and run a different pair in the other side. Then you can channel switch the power amp with the preamp, giving you *eight* different combinations of preamp and power amp.