another cool amp...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• another cool amp...

I went to the local open jam tonight and they had a Mesa Boogie DC-5 combo. I've never tried one before - what a really cool amp! I had a Warmoth Strat with me and this amp really sang. We played blues/classic rock stuff (of course) and the DC-5 really delivered the goods. The OD channel has great sustain and very smooth overdrive/distortion. The clean channel really worked well with the Strat - very crisp without piercing your fucking ears like a Twin Reverb would.

I'm not sure if this amp would do modern metal but I'm pretty sure if I had a humbucker equipped guitar playiong 80's metal would have been no problem.

I don't know anything else about these amps but it sure seemed like a sweet amp to me!
    I want REAL change. I want dead bodies littering the capitol.

- Newc

Originally posted by hippietim View Post
    I went to the local open jam tonight and they had a Mesa Boogie DC-5 combo. I've never tried one before - what a really cool amp! I had a Warmoth Strat with me and this amp really sang. We played blues/classic rock stuff (of course) and the DC-5 really delivered the goods. The OD channel has great sustain and very smooth overdrive/distortion. The clean channel really worked well with the Strat - very crisp without piercing your fucking ears like a Twin Reverb would.

I'm not sure if this amp would do modern metal but I'm pretty sure if I had a humbucker equipped guitar playiong 80's metal would have been no problem.

I don't know anything else about these amps but it sure seemed like a sweet amp to me!
    I've always loved the Dual Caliber amps... I'm working at buying one right now in fact. They're like a darker, more aggressive mark IV without so many knobs/options. Killer amps

Comment