which marshall to get?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• which marshall to get?

so i'm a semi new guitarist, and i'm looking to buy a new amp. i know the MG series isn't as good as some of the more expensive models, but i want to get a marshall and i'm on kind of a tight budget. anyways i was looking at the MG50DFX Combo Amp and the MG15MSII Micro Stack.
    can anyone give me their opinion on which is better, the pros/cons of each? are the extra digital effects and the footswitch on the mg50 really that important? im really just looking for tone, i mean power is important, but i probably won't be playing any shows anytime soon, it's pretty much just for use at home, maybe playing with some friends...
    thanks alot.

Originally posted by redluke22 View Post
    so i'm a semi new guitarist, and i'm looking to buy a new amp. i know the MG series isn't as good as some of the more expensive models, but i want to get a marshall and i'm on kind of a tight budget. anyways i was looking at the MG50DFX Combo Amp and the MG15MSII Micro Stack.
    can anyone give me their opinion on which is better, the pros/cons of each? are the extra digital effects and the footswitch on the mg50 really that important? im really just looking for tone, i mean power is important, but i probably won't be playing any shows anytime soon, it's pretty much just for use at home, maybe playing with some friends...
    thanks alot.
    IMO stay away from both, go with a VOX. I have this one myself and I think it would be perfect for you. http://www.musiciansfriend.com/produ...mbo?sku=481959

It has a built in attenuator so you can go from 0.1w to 30w of juice with the turn of a knob, on the fly. The amp models and effects are top-notch, especially for the price of the amp.

EDIT: If you've got the extra cash to spend then there's also a 50w version for about the same price as the MG50DFX.