Do I Need A New Amp?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do I Need A New Amp?

I have been wrestling with this one for a couple years. I have a Framus Cobra (re-biased, great tubes) that kills.

However, I am more into a Michael Schenker type of tone (or Methias Jabbs for that matter) these days.

I don't play nu metal or any modern day heavy on the bass BBE type stuff. I am pretty much an instrumental solo type of player and some of the very best tones I have ever heard have been from Schenker and Jabbs - just my opinion of course.

Been considering getting a Marshall. Use to have a 9500 actually and probably should not have sold it. Anyway thinking about a head.

If I like it enough I may or may not get rid of the Framus. But I do love the Framus. It crushes.

Anyway, overall Marshalls have problems. Its no secret. If I could get the same sound with a Germino or Mojave or Metro I would probably go for one of those.

But then people say nothing sounds like a Marshall and I don't know if I could get the 80's metal solo tones with the above amps.

The newer amps though (some of them anyway) have built in power attenuators which I would love.

With a Marshall I would have to get something - variac or something. And I have heard those cause havic on the amps - burn out not only tubes but caps and things after a while.

If I were to go the Marshall route my choices would include a JCM800 2100, or DSL100 or the new JVM410H.

Hopefully I would not have to change speakers. I have 2 - 2x12" Bag Ends - each is 4 or 8 ohms. Can't remember off hand but there is nothing that can touch them for sound. I would not want to have to get rid of them.
    Each one can handle 400 watts continuous power and can handle 1600 watt peaks.

Anyway, what do you guys think?
    PLAY TILL U DIE !!!