Need a new amp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need a new amp

i just started playing local shows at some bars and i need a new amp badly. Right now im playing through a marshall 65watt valvestate which does not have enough power to be heard and cut through w/ a 2nd guitarist. I'm into a lot of early 90's music from grunge to alternative to metal. Any thoughts?

I've been eying the peavey triple xxx (jsx sounded kinda compressed when i demoed it), mesa rectoverb (played a stiletto ace and didn't think it was heavy enough sounding not sure if the duece is the same way) , and carvin v3 (like the features clean sounds awesome but ive heard really bad clips of the od channels and only a couple good ones).

Any other amps u guys might have in mind I wanna spend less then a 1000 new or used

The Triple XXX is very versatile, and if I wasn't using rack stuff now, that's what I'd buy. It's also one of the few good tube heads that will fit your budget while allowing money left over for a cab. If tubes don't matter, you could also try a Peavey XXL for less cash.

I suppose another option would be the Line 6 SpiderValve, which I'm sure someone else could comment on. The specs appear to be well suited for someone who needs versatility, but I don't know how well the amp cuts through.
    sigpic

Comment

Comment

Grunge/alternative and metal.... the V3 would be a great choice. So would a Marshall DSL or TSL.

Comment

Mesa Roadster
          Fender Stratocaster Custom Shop Custom Classic
          Fender Stratocaster Eric Clapton sig
          Fender Telecaster Standard MM
          Jackson Dinky DKMGT
          Jackson Stealth EX
          Charvel 375
          Ibanez Daytripper
          OLP Musicman
          Carvin C250

Mesa 5:50 Express
          Sonic 4 x 12

Comment

I used to use a pair of Triple XXX's for gigging. Good amps and affordable. I now gig and rehearse with a JSX though. The clean channel is much better and the gain tones are better IMO.