Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

To Bias an Amp with 8 pin dual bias probe...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To Bias an Amp with 8 pin dual bias probe...

This may sound like a few dumb questions, but can anyone help me answer them? To bias a 50 watt Marshall tube head, I would connect the dual bias probe to the amp with the 2 tubes and check the millivolts reading, while connected to the multimeter, right? Marshall recommends 45 mv per tube, so while I monitor the value on my multimeter I would turn the bias adjuster inside the amp until the value reads 45 mv, right?

I have some experience working with electronics, but not with biasing. Is there any danger using the bias probes, in terms of high voltage that can kill? Like the leads that go to the multi meter, is that lethal voltage or ok to touch as you make the connections? Please let me know, thanks. This is what I'm talking about:

So what are the steps to take to bias the amp with that tool?
    "Got a crazy feeling I don't understand,
    Gotta get away from here.
    Feelin' like I shoulda kept my feet on the ground
    Waitin' for the sun to appear..."

Nobody?

Comment

DO NOT TOUCH THEM!

Connect your meter with that amp unplugged and discharged.
      Adjust the bias pot until the recommended MV rating is achieved.

Then turn off the amp...discharge it, and disconnect everything.

If you have two meters, then put one on the B+ rail to make sure there is no residual DC voltage present.

Comment

That goes against everything I've read and studied about the current in that set up. It is supposedely extremely low in voltage, like biasing a JCM 2000, the prongs are connected to the mm and that draw is very low, nowhere even close to being felt, let alone lethal. Doesn't the bias probe take the low draw from pin #8? Isn't that the mv range? I'm confused by your answer, Cygnus.

Comment

Originally posted by charvel750 View Post