Setup Help -- Newbie to Midi

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Setup Help -- Newbie to Midi

I just purchased an ADA MP-1 and TC G-Major. I understand how to connect these pieces along with the power amp, my question is how to hook up the midi.

I will be using a Rocktron Midi Mate controller. Do I go Rocktron into the ADA or the TC? Do I need a midi-thru to the other unit then as well? :think:

Thanks for any assistance!

I have no experience with this, but I would think that the Rocktron can only control one piece at a time unless you have some sort of pass-through.

I do know that www.adadepot.com gets mentioned all the time on here for MP-1 owners. Perhaps they could give better help?
    Scott

Comment

Ok, here ya go.

For simplicity's sake, put all the 3 devices on MIDI channel 1. This will insure that the foot pedal will be able to communicate (send program changes) to both devices.

Next, the MIDI out from the pedal goes to the MIDI In on the MP-1. This will allow the program change data from the foot pedal to switch presets on the MP-1.

After that, the MIDI Thru from the MP-1 and connect it to the MIDI In of the G Major. This will allow the program change data from the foot pedal to pass through the MP-1 to the G Major. When you change a preset on the foot pedal, both the MP-1 and the G Major will change to the corresponding preset number.

That's how it basically works. Now I suggest you read up on the MIDI functions of all your devices. On some MIDI equipped devices you can do more advanced things like Preset Mapping which allow you to have your pedal's Preset 1 select any preset you want on the MP-1 and the G Major. This makes it easier to manage all the patches since you don't have to have redundant presets.

Hope that helps.

Comment

You are on the right track. You can go to either unit first, as long as they have a midi out as well.
        EX. MidiMate OUT to ADA IN, ADA OUT to G-Major IN.