Orange Crush or Peavey Vypyr?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Orange Crush or Peavey Vypyr?

Which one would you recommend? I'm in need of an amp, and want to keep it under $250. I can get either easily, so availability isn't an issue. I do mostly metal stuff, with some blues and rock as well.

I've been using the vyper for 6 months now, love it, you can get some great sounds out of it, for home use I can't see past it, however I wouldn't use it live as it gets a bit harsh at higher volumes

Comment

Vypyr is way more versatile. The Orange is pretty bare bones - but definitely looks cool...

Comment

Does the Vypyr have any problems I should watch out for? I looked around at a link I got at another forum, and I saw many posts regarded troubles with startup, hissing and speakers blowing. Is this very common on the Vypyr series?

Comment

This came up before on here..I've had no problems with mine in the time I have used it, it is incredibly quiet..no hiss whatsoever, no start up problems, can't see why the speakers would blow unless your really cranking it all the time (even then??)

Have a look on you tube, there are plenty of reviews of it on there.

To expand on what I posted earlier, if your looking for a practice/home or recording amp the Vyper all the way...Live amp..with your budget I would maybe go with one of the Marshall MG series or get a second hand Valvestate.

Comment

It's for bedroom use only. The Vox VT15 has also caught my eye, can anybody throw some input on how that stacks up against the Vypyr, I've pretty much decided against the Crush and they'll cost me the same.

Comment

if purely for just bedroom practice id go line 6 pod or korg Px5d and a good set of headphones, then its portable, quiet, and extremely versatile

Comment

The vox stuff is good I havent played through the VT stuff yet but it's supposedly got improvements over the AD series which I alwyas liked the tone of...