The roots of shred-style playing.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The roots of shred-style playing.

Let's talk about the players that laid down the foundation of what we now know as "Shredding"

While I won't deny that Jimi Hendrix was a key figure in the devellopment of the thing, his style actually was based on long solos, no lightning fast runs or fingerbreaking riffs. Hendrix was self taught and it showed in his playing, he's the ultimate "Play-from-the-heart" guitarist and that's what made him so good.

But when it comes to playing those lightning fast runs and fingerbreaking riffs we have to look elsewhere.
    Steve Hackett for example on the second Genesis album "Nursery Cryme" for example. "The return of the Giant Hogweed" starts with a furious two hand tapping riff predating Van Halen's similar "Hot for teacher" by twelve years.

Go see and hear it here.

Another key figure in the devellopment of Shred was Dutch guitar master Jan Akkerman, who was among the very first to incorporate classical influence in his solos and he played them faster that anybody else in those days. His work on the album "Moving waves" earned him the title of Best guitarist on the planet as given by the readers of the New Musical express.

Just see for yourself in this awesome rendition of "Hocus Pocus"

Or in this wonderful rendition of "Eruption", now where did Eddie Van halen got that title from?
    Last edited by Blazer; 01-19-2007, 05:41 PM.

Good call on Akkerman. I don't know if he's the pioneer, but I always think of him when this subject comes up.

Comment

I'd think of Uli Roth on 'Tokyo Tapes', Holdsworth with UK and of course Dimiola.