Green Carnation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Green Carnation

I am absolutely head-over-heels in love with this band's 'Blessing in Disguise' and 'The quiet offspring' albums. Are there any bands that sound quite the same? They make very dark and heavy sounding music. Any tips on what gear the rhythm guitarist uses would also help. Sounds like a Mesa, but I'm no mesa expert either.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=O2qVdn-Y04g

http://youtube.com/watch?v=7FmP_F5_mQQ

http://youtube.com/watch?v=aaHCH2xX8xE
    Last edited by emperor_black; 08-14-2007, 02:14 AM.
    Sam

Yeah, that is a great release, and the only one I have..It's hard to tell what gear that is.. honestly it could be Mesa..as well as Engl, 5150 ..my Bogner could definitely do that..and does.

Good production and nice heavy tone..I know that much..

They have a new dvd out now..found one on the bay for 10 bucks.
    Last edited by horns666; 08-14-2007, 02:46 AM.
    "Bill, Smoke a Bowl and Crank Van Halen I, Life is better when I do that"
    Donnie Swanstrom 01/25/06..miss ya!

"Well, your friend would have Bell's Palsy, which is a facial paralysis, not "Balls Pelsy" like we're joking about here." Toejam's attempt at sensitivity.

Comment

"Blessing in Disguise" was my introduction to GC and I think its a great CD... As for other "similar" bands, I couldn't name anyone that exactly matches their style. The closest I could name would be Anathema ("Judgement" is a great place to start) and Lacrimas Profundere ("Ave. End" and "Fall, I will Follow" are closest in style to GC, but my favorite of their albums is "Burning: A Wish"). Katatonia also has a similar mood. "Last Fair Deal Gone Down" is what introduced me to them.

Comment

I have "Light of Day, Day of Darkness" by them and I think it is ok but I get kind of bored with it

Comment