Need help ID'ing a Geetar

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help ID'ing a Geetar

Picked this up today at a guitar show for fairly little dough. It is a Holdsworth neck. I know this is as I have a fairly minty one to compare it to. Has a red/pink Flip-flop paint job, headstock and body. Plays like a mutha.

I dont know much about bodies, but it looked cool to me and played even better, so I bit. It has a Jackson SD plate, so obviously a little funk-ness ging on. I opened the back cavity, looked untouched with orginal solder, etc...and has copper shielding.

Can anyone help ID the guitar as you see it?

Thanks!

Shawn

Spin the black circle.

[email protected]

Re: Need help ID\'ing a Geetar

Nice. I am by no means an expert. However, I am pretty sure that case came with early model series imports for starts so that must be added for the "look". Also, that plate is the huge red flag as you know.

Body looks good to me. I also have a late model s-head and the logo looks right for that to me. floyd nut has what looks like the right amount of corrosion for a mid 80s guitar and the rear mounted floyd nut is also correct for that time frame (86 time frame - although I thought that they run out of charvel logos long before the plates so???).

Jackson plate suggests parts (swapped neck maybe). But since the headstock seems to match the body (or does it, I honestly cant tell from the pics), maybe parts with a refin. Another thought I had was employee project? Those are my best case guesses.

On the otherhand, could be a fake that someone through together (and depeding on how much you paid, that could be an indication -if it was short money, then ??? cuz why bother faking a charvel without trying to cash in).