Fretboard crack and headstock clearcoat bubble :O(

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fretboard crack and headstock clearcoat bubble :O(

Has anyone had any issues like this with their San Dimas reissue Charvels and if so what did you do to get them fixed? Were they fixed under warranty? Sould I be concerend with this getting worse? Check out the pics: http://s197.photobucket.com/albums/a...rvel%20issues/

Looks like a warranty issue. JCF members had to go to a J/C dealer and have it returned to Corona, CA for repairs. Turnaround? Depends on the extent of repair.
    Tone is like Art: Your opinion is valid. Listen, learn, have fun, draw your own conclusions.

Comment

The clearcoat issue is pretty well known and common on the pointies, unfortunately. Member ADR here had his fixed under warranty, and they turned it around surprisingly quick for him. Those bubbles (delaminated clearcoat) do tend to get worse with time. Not sure about the fretboard crack. I'm no expert on that stuff, but it looks like glue & a clamp should take care of it. I'd run it by them & see if they'll handle it when they repaint the headstock.

Comment

Don't accept the fretboard issue! The crack will grow with temperature up- and downs + vibrations from actually playing the guitar.

Comment

Well, I just emailed customer service and sent them the pics so we'll see what they have to say. I also contacted the dealer I purchased the guitar from. This kills me! I love the neck but I'm hoping that they'll just replace the whole thing and not refinish the headstock and glue the fretboard. I wonder to if I'll have to send them the whole guitar or just the neck? Anyone know the answer to this?

Comment

You will be required to send the entire instrument.
            Custom Guitars, Refinish and restorations.
            http://www.learnguitars.com

Comment