Dilema: 3 Jacksons and Ibanez

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dilema: 3 Jacksons and Ibanez

Hey guys! I'm new to this forum, but not that new to Jacksons . I've been playing a JRR94 Concept for last couple of years, and it's just awesome. I also have an Ibanez RG350 which is just a piece of s**t compared to jackson (tone wise).

So, I was thinking to sell that Ibanez, and buy some other jackson (you gotta love tham). I'm a university student, so money is tight, but i was considering these guitars:

new DK2 - down side is price, I tried it and it's just great
    new DX10D - down side is basswood, haven't tried it yet, probably will soon
    used Fusion professional STD - down side is basswood, can't try it until I decide to buy it

I know that Fusion is a shorter scale, it's not in mint shape (judging on pictures), but it's the cheapest one.
    I have noticed that new DX10Ds (from this year) come with JT580LP floyd insted the JT500 which was on the earlier DX10Ds (in catalog for 2006).

Reason why I don't like basswood is my Ibanez. For last three or four years I've played it, and played my poplar Jackson. Jackson always had a better tone, clean or drive. I even put a SuperDistortion in ibanez, and it helped a little, but on clean, Jackson, with stock pickups, was still light years ahead. Also the neck on Jackson is just far more comfortable then the WizardII.

So, if anyone can compare any of these guitars, tone wise, that would be helpful.
    Also if anyone can compare DX10D to Ibanez RG350 since they are very similar. Almost the same price (new), and same specs. Is Jackson any batter? Is it worth selling my Ibanez plus additional 150-200 euros?

I appreciate any help.
    Last edited by icy_tower; 11-23-2009, 03:03 AM.