EMG Pickup upgrade question...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EMG Pickup upgrade question...

I'm a beginner self taught and have been playing for almost a year now religiously mostly Metal Metallica, Disturbed, A7X ect...I play for my own interest not looking to be in a band but I love the challenge that guitars have to offer...I currently own a JS1 and would like to upgrade to something better but my budget range is around $250-$300 at the moment...I was looking into the JS30DK that I saw for around $250. I also called my local shop and was told that I can upgrade the stock pickups on the JS1 to EMG 81/85 Zak Wylde set for $220 installed...My question is that is it worth upgrading the JS1 since its a low end model and beginner guitar or snatch up the JS30DK and work with that for the moment and get better until I can purchase a better model?....I need Help from knowledgable guitarists please lol

In a low end model I would say no to the pick-up swap, try saving up abit more for the DX10D if possible, if not I would say the one of the new JS series dinkies they shown at namm.
    Gear

Jackson DXMG
    Jackson JS30RR
    Boss ML2 Metalcore Pedal
    Dunlop GCB-95 Crybaby
    Blackstar HT5H
    Marshall MC212

Gear I want

Jackson RR1T Black
    Marshall JCM 800 2203
    Marshall 1960A Cab

Comment

Don't upgrade a cheap guitar. In the end, it's a cheap guitar with upgrades.

Now, if it's a really great guitar with a few cheap parts, that's one thing, but that's not what I understand the JS series to be... They are good beginner guitars but not worth upgrading.

Comment

+1... go for the 'x' series like a dx10d, or better yet DXMG that would last you years and you would NOT outgrow it skill-wise, look at the classifieds here, I think there is a blue Dinky with case in your budget... or else check ebay
        Wish I could add Pics to this thing!!

Comment