Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jackson SL3MG vs Charvel Model 6

I'm new to the forum, so hi!

I've owned a Charvel Model 6 since 1986 or so, when I paid 800 pounds for it. I love this guitar, so much so that I've never bought another guitar since - mainly because I knew I couldn't justify spending enough money to replace it with something better, especially since I'm just a keen amateur.

Anyway, it's been great up until recently. Now its no longer staying in tune. Single tone bends on G or B can knock it off whack, whereas before it would stay in tune no matter what. I'm busy combing the threads here for advice on how to remedy this, but I'm also wondering if it isn't time to upgrade.

It looks like the Jackson Soloist is the one for me, and it seems the best I can afford is the SL3MG. This actually looks similar in spec to my model 6, and despite the passage of years and the fluctuating exchange rate, the dollar price at dealers seems similar to what I paid back in the day. So my question is: is the SL3MG a significant upgrade over my trusty old Model 6? Or should I just fix my Model 6, or get someone else to do it if I can't manage it?
    Thanks in advance!
    Cliff
    My other signature says something funny

Is yours a JT6 (lic. floyd) or Kahler bridge? Significant upgrade? Absolutely not IMO. But they are both nice guitars. Just different specs. The SL3 (HSS) I played had a thicker neck than my '87 Model 6. I think the newer SL3MG's have binding now (??).. Both rosewood. Poplar (M6) vs Alder. The newer SL3MG's have the korean OFR. You'll have to look at the specs and see which is better for you. But a bridge swap on the M6 is not a hard issue. Kahler - just replace. JT6 - OFR is a direct swap.
    Every man dies... Not every man really lives!!

Comment

Welcome! This place will give you GAS. Try this thread: http://www.jcfonline.com/threads/116...+locknut+parts