Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hey guys from LA! New Jackson owner here! (picked up a MIJ Fusion Pro!)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hey guys from LA! New Jackson owner here! (picked up a MIJ Fusion Pro!)

Hey everyone! So I figured I might as well start a new thread to introduce myself. My name is Peter and I'm from the Los Angeles area. I am currently trying to start a band (as a vocalist mind you) in the likes of something progressive metal. Also like many other forumers out there... I have been afflicted with G.A.S. over the last year or so and been slowly acquiring my rig... More specifically since before I started playing guitar I always wanted a Jackson guitar (thanks Slayer)... and now I've got one!

Anyway enough about me and more about my new guitar! I picked up a '90 or '91 red blue pearl (I think that's the color) Made in Japan, Fusion Pro from a friend who owed money to the IRS so I got it only for a few bills! She's not in perfect shape but pretty good considering she was a player's guitar. Fretboard is immaculate and there are some dents on the back of the neck but the bridge is in good shape and she plays like a dream. Also instead of the stock bridge there is a DiMarzio X2N and the EQ flip switch was changed to a killswitch

I was wondering if anyone knew the exact specifics of that original flip switch EQ and how it worked? I finally ordered some backplates from Frets on the Net since she was missing them when I bought her, and just gave it all to my guitar tech to be set up and fixed. He was telling me that the wiring is all messed up inside and that the tone pot is disconnected or changed to a volume control. Also he was thinking that the flipswitch was not an EQ and instead split the coils of the humbucker :think:

I found this link and it said the switch was actually a "wah like" EQ: