Soloist Pro v. Model 6

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Soloist Pro v. Model 6

I've been patiently waiting to nab a old Soloist Pro for the past few years, and now that I have the funds to pick one up, there seems to be none available. However, there have been a few Model 6s available, but I have never tried one out before. As much as I love the sexiness of the Pro, I have been tempted to get myself a Model 6.

Which course of action should I take, and in your guys' experience, which is better?
    I'm back bitches!!!

Gear:
    ESP LTD EC-1000T CTM Black
    Agile Al 3XXX Custom Tobacco Sunburst w/Blackouts
    Blackstar Soloist HT60
    Dunlop OG Crybaby Wah
    Seymour Duncan 805

I have both. I love both. I heavily modded my '87 Model 6 (quilt top, 1 vol and rotary pup switch, square plate JT580LP) and love it.. But.... My '90 Soloist PRO is the guitar that made me sell my USA Soloist. It is the most solid, best playing and feeling guitar I've ever touched. They are the same materials (maple/poplar), the hardware is mostly a wash if you upgrade the M6 JT6 with OFR (or preferred equvalent). Electronics is a preference thing.. The neck on my Model 6 is a bit thicker than the PRO but not uncomfortable, just a bit different. I really couldn't yell you which to go for. I'd say you'd have to try them both..

And BTW, I think the upside down smile on that face answers your question..
    Every man dies... Not every man really lives!!

Comment

The only drawback on the Model 6 to me was the behind the nut Kahler locknut. I found that to be major PITA but then had a proper floyd nut installed.

Truth be told I was also not a fan of those on/off three pup switches and wished that they had just installed them with the standard strat style 5 way but still overall a great guitar and killer tone too!

Comment

My model6 is the only import I still own if that counts for anything. I prefer the non recessed trem and larger heal of the mod6.

Comment