Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Jackson, took me 30 years!

Greetings,
    New guy checking in here, hoping to learn and share as much as I can here.
    I have been wanting a Jackson since the mid 80's when I started playing guitar in high school.
    My grandmother took me to an estate sale one afternoon and bought me a white Hondo strat copy and little Peavey amp.
    I never took lessons but just started playing and learning from friends. When I started college I was playing and learning a lot from some of the guys in the dorm. EVH and Metallica were very popular back then.
    In the summer of 1987 I saved up some money working all summer to by a guitar. I wanted a USA Jackson so bad but couldn't afford the $1000+ price of admission. Used ones were hard to come by with no internet/ebay.
    I went to the House Of Guitars in Rochester NY with my savings hoping that by some miracle I might acquire one. I looked, I played, I fell in love but simply didn't have the cash.
    I ended up getting a standard 1984 Gibson Explorer in black. It was in mint condition and sounded great with the original dirty finger pickups, but I had no clue at the time.
    Played through college and afterwards always had a house mate who played but I don't feel like I ever progressed much. Once I moved into an apartment, got married, and started a career the guitar got left in the closet. The amps were sold off once I discovered ebay as they were just taking up space and weren't used in many years.
    After not playing for almost 20 years I saw something about Rocksmith 2014 when it was launching and the session mode intrigued me. At the same time I was being bugged to give xmas gift ideas, so I put it on my list.