taking pictures of guitars

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• taking pictures of guitars

Hey all, I'm about to try to sell some Jacksons on ebay and was wondering what would be good shots, and what kind of background would work best. I'm a new digital photographer (nikon coolpix 4300) and I'm not really sure. I did take some test pictures, but I think I need to spend some time on a better background, lighting, and just what shots to take.

Re: taking pictures of guitars

Lots of close ups, but watch out for the flash! I would take one full front and one full back, as well as any blemishes. That is if you can get them to show. That just lets bidders know you're honest. That's what I look for when bidding. The background depends on what color the guitar is. White on dark and vice versa!

Comment

That Nikon camera you have is pretty good, actually. It's surprisingly user-friendly. You should be able to pull off more than decent shots of your guitars. Maybe this topic will help a little bit:

http://www.jcfonline.com/ubb/noncgi/...=003158#000000

Natural light is your friend. Copious amounts of it is generally preferred rather than trying to use a flash in a dim basement at night to fully capture your subject. Take your guitar outside and you might be surprised that the camera may capture some of the beauty (and maybe some blemishes) of the guitar that you didn't know existed before. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

Comment

On another note, how come your not offering them here first? [img]graemlins/brow.gif[/img]

Comment

Originally posted by ManyAxes:
          On another note, how come your not offering them here first? [img]graemlins/brow.gif[/img]
          <font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">He's a "junior member" and thusly can't post in the classifieds.

Comment

Ooops, didn't catch that! [img]graemlins/eyes.gif[/img]

Comment