Palm Muting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Palm Muting

Sorry if this has been asked but I didnt a search and came up empty.

How good really are Jacksons for palm muting? Most of the music I hear with Jackson endorsers are not quite the sound I like but I know Jacksons sound better than that. I like a smooth tight crunch as well. Stuff like Scott Ian is too gritty and Dave Mustaine had a bit weaker sound. Can a Jackson hold its own up to a Gibson Explorer per se? I know how those play as I own one and I love the palm muting on it. Nice and warm.

The axe I guess to compare would be the Rhaods I'm getting. All Korina, 25.5, Neck Thru with Ebony fingerboard and Barto ZBS-80 pups. Think that could give me a nice warm palm mute? I have a old King V and its alder I think with a Maple board and its too twangy.
    I'm mainly a rythem guitarist. I prefer a tight, heavy low end and keep that goin rather than doin the soloings.
    I use Di'Addario Medium Jazz strings(13 to 56 I think)

I know just about any guitar can sound good but I'd just like to hear your oinions on this matter. Or are maybe Jacksons best for shredding?

Re: Palm Muting

[img]graemlins/scratchhead.gif[/img] Huh? Great palm muted tone is attributed to technique and tone rather than a particular guitar manufacturer. I can get great palm muted tone from any of my guitars, even my acoustics, surprisingly.

Perhaps a different guitar pick is in order for you. Switch to a different gauge pick to see if you like the tone coming from it.

Comment

Nah. If you pick up a PRS Custom 22 and a BC Rich Beast, they dont play alike. The tone from my V and the tone from my Gibson are very different as well. Picks arent an issue. I use 2.0 Gator picks and I love em.

Comment

True, but that's why we buy different guitars, right? Because they sound different and we want a whole spectrum of possible tones that we can work with?