Question About Jackson Dinky

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question About Jackson Dinky

Hi, I'm a 16 year old guitarist new to this board and currently own a Jackson RR3.

I like it but I've had it for two years and am ready to step up. A couple weeks ago Guitar Center had a used black Jackson Dinky. It had EMG's and was priced at $1199 or $1299. I don't remember much about this guitar since my parents just drove me there to run in to get some strings. I didn't have much time to look, but I hooked this guitar up and it played awesome.

It was hard to say but i think it may have been the same type of neck as my jackson. Lol this guitar is easier to sit down and play than my rhoads. I was very comfortable and played really fast on it. This guitar looked custom (it had a what looked like a phaser switch on it). I know someone could have just thrown it on because it didn't seem to do much when i flipped it. The guitar looked like it was on stage as well, in other words, it looked a little beat up. It was missing a tone knob and 2 of the nuts from the locking tremelo were missing. But i did bend strings and sorta moved the tremelo with my hand. It didn't go out of tune. I don't even know if it was a neck-thru, for the price it should be. I think it had a Floyd Rose.

My question is I have looked on Ebay, Sam Ash Online, Musician's Friend Online, etc. And the most expensive dinky is like 600$ or 700$. Could this guitar have been a Jackson Soloist? I have no idea, but the Soloists I have seen online are around 1400$ or 1500$.

One of my friends actually recommended the dinky for 80's metal sound and this one def has it. I don't know if Guitar Center is ripping me off or if this guitar is worth it. This could be a guitar from the 1980's for all I know. Maybe an 80's Jackson has more value. The tag on the guitar didn't tell too much, I had a quick glance at it but my father actually ended up coming in to the store to see what i was doing. lol