Swapping the locking nut

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Swapping the locking nut

I just got myself a Charvel model 3 guitar, but it has no trem. So i figured i'd put an original floyd rose in there. I've measured, and the Floyd'll just glide right in. [img]/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img] The only thing different i noticed, is the locking nut.

The locking nut on this guitar is not like the standard Floyd Rose nuts I've seen. I probably could use it with the Floyd Rose i plan to get, but i figured it would be nice to install the locking nut that goes with it. Is it possible to do this? I realize i have to route out some wood (i think?) [img]/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] I have no experience with this kind of modifications, so any help would be appreciated [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

Re: Swapping the locking nut

I would personally take it to a pro to make that sort of modification. Here's what the mod looks like on my Model 6:

This particular nut was mounted with screws from the back as you can see. I'd guess that the current nuts are all front mounted(?).

Comment

Yeah, they're front mounted. How much would it cost me to have a pro do that for me? I don't wanna spend loads of money on getting the locking nut changed on this guitar, you know? [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

Comment

I'd just leave the current JT-6 locking nut in place: They're not ideal, but they're not that bad either, so the cost of the work probably isn't justified on a model 3.....
        Popular is not the same as good
        Rare is not the same as valuable
        Worth is what someone will pay, not what you want to get

Comment