Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hello everybody..I have a charvel "neck " question

Hello,
    I am new to this board ..I have watched it for a while and have noticed some real knowledgable people post here ( experts actually). I am a lead guitarist in a metal band and my main instrument is a Jackson jj-1...this is the perfect guitar for downtuned palm muted rhythm work... any ways here is my question

I just scored a charvel model 3a for $200..It is mint but I am looking to "san dimas" it with a strat headstock, maple neck, and real floyd rose...Is gmw the best place to go? Will they get me a neck that will fit the pocet perfectly and line up....I have seen there work and it looks awesome....any recomendations would be helpful..

Re: hello everybody..I have a charvel "neck " question

first of all, welcome....is your board name at all related to the "lafours" character from mallrats? if so, nice one!

anyway, necks from gmw start at 250, add at least 120 for a floyd, and you've dropped a fair amount of money on what already should be a pretty nice guitar... just a thought.

sully
    Sully Guitars - Built by Rock & Roll
    Sully Guitars on Facebook
    Sully Guitars on Google+
    Sully Guitars on Tumblr

Comment

i'm guessing that the model 3 will have a jackson jt6 trem on it, which is okay, but imo, not the greatest thing in the world. a floyd (schaller or original floyd rose) will drop right in. pickups are always subjective to tastes, and personally, i'd plan on putting at least swappin the bridge pickup out. however, the model necks are pretty nice, so i'm sure that you'll be happy with it!

then again, i love modding the hell outta things, so have at it!

sully
      Sully Guitars on Google+
      Sully Guitars on Tumblr

Comment

how is the lock nut on the guitar... I know its wierd like a kahler nut I think..it's right on the headstock...I will put some duncans in in I am sure...

Comment