Tremolo Arm Wiggle?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tremolo Arm Wiggle?

Hey guys, i just received my first guitar with a tremolo system (charvel 750xl).

i have zero experience with tremolos, and i was wondering (since it's obviously used) if it was normal for there to be a little bit of wiggle room with the tremolo arm. What i mean is, say i want to pull up for some delicate vibrato, the arm moves a little bit before torquing the bridge (i.e. moves without affecting pitch).

It gets slightly better if screw the thing down as tight as it goes, but then i can't swing it out of the way easily.

Thanks.

The socket can wear out over time and get loose.
    A replacement bar and socket can be had for under $16.

Only takes a few minutes to swap out.
    -Rick

Comment

Originally posted by rjohnstone View Post
      The socket can wear out over time and get loose.
      A replacement bar and socket can be had for under $16.

Only takes a few minutes to swap out.
      The bad thing is I've had brand new ones come with a bit of a wiggle to them. Argh!

Comment

I've had good luck with the actual Schaller made replacements.
        The knock off ones, not so good.
        -Rick

Comment

I got the last problematic one from Allparts. I seem to recall it coming in Schaller packaging, but my memory...well...it's not so good.

Allparts® Music Corporation is the world's leading distributor of guitar and bass parts to retailers, builders, techs, and guitar players.

Comment

RT-B? The more I look at it, the more it looks like a licensed one. Damn Allparts!!

Comment

Yeah... AllParts is notorious for that crap.
              Stew Mac is where I get my replacement parts.
              These parts are 'Original' Floyd Rose parts.
              They are shipped in Schaller packaging, so I assume they are genuine parts.
              -Rick

Comment

Originally posted by rjohnstone View Post
                Yeah... AllParts is notorious for that crap.