New Guy Here...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Guy Here...

Howdy! I just bought a new SoCal in Pagan Gold, and a lot of my research in to it came from here, so I thought I would join up. I've been playing since 1983, and have been a fan of Charvel/Jackson since even before that. I never could afford one back then, but when the right one from that era comes along, I'm sure to be picking one up. I had a couple of Pro series DR5's back in the 90's as gigging guitars, but sold and traded them away. The new affordable Charvels sounded like just my thing for quality vs. price, so I picked one up through Piney Hills, who I e-met on another forum. I'm really digging it so far, being a hot rodded Strat fan. To date, it is the only guitar I have bought and not started right out thinking 'I'll change this, and this, and this...' That doesn't mean I won't be changing anything, just not yet.

My son lucked in to a very sweet neck-thru Jackson bass. (P-body, pointy, with EMJ P/J set.) We went to a local GC to get his Christmas present, and while I was looking at some amps, he asked me 'is $500 good for a Jackson bass?' I figured it would be an import, but when he brought it over, I saw that it had the 'Made In USA' under the logo. I figured it might be a mid to later 80's model, as I wasn't familiar with the serial numbers. The guy at the store said '86 or '87. It was in great shape, some normal play wear but no major scars, so we picked it up. After sending a friend on another forum pics and the serial number, it turns out to be the last guitar on the '83 books, J0034. Probably a once in a lifetime deal/steal. I know the basses don't seem to be as valuable as the guitars, but it was definitely a cool find.

And now the payoff: Pics.
    Body shot, nothing you haven't seen before.

With my two main amps, Line6 VettaII and Blackmore Engl w/Avatar contemporary cab.

Family pic.

J0034