Questions about a pawn shop Charvel.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about a pawn shop Charvel.

Hello. I'm considering a Charvel I've found in a pawnshop. I'm new to Charvels, but know a lot about guitars in general. Here's the deal:

-$115 plus tax, with "hardshell" case. The guitar is in rough condition. Haven't seen the case.

-Fort Worth era Model Series, not sure which one.

-Maple fretboard

-Hum/single/single Jackson pickups

-Electric blue.

-Five-way switch.

-JT 6 trem . . . and here's where the fun starts.

The trem is missing a few parts, and one of the saddles doesn't sit level. It is rusted all to hell. I was able to make each of the fine tuners turn, after lots of effort. The locking "nut" (behind the nut locks) does not lock; missing one of the plates, the others are worn.

Even without using the trem or bending strings, I could not get the guitar to play in tune for any length of time.

I can justify the $115 bucks . . . but only if I'm not going to have to sink another couple of hundred into this guitar to make it play in tune. I'm not knowledgeable enough to know options for replacing bridges, parts, etc. I don't mind buying some screws, but I don't want to have to buy a new Floyd.

What do you think?

I know that a couple of new tuners is only gonna cost you about $30-$40 strings probably bout $15 Any info on which model?
    Gear

Jackson DXMG
    Jackson JS30RR
    Boss ML2 Metalcore Pedal
    Dunlop GCB-95 Crybaby
    Blackstar HT5H
    Marshall MC212

Gear I want

Jackson RR1T Black
    Marshall JCM 800 2203
    Marshall 1960A Cab

Comment

Sounds like a model 3M.JT-6's you can find on ebay pretty easily.The locking pads for the nut are easy to fix with a file if they are worn.I'm sure people around here have a few extras if you need one.
      The model series are made in Japan 86-88.