Ibanez 7-Strings?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ibanez 7-Strings?

The RG7621 in particular. I have ZERO experience with 7-strings and am interested in picking up a decent but inexpensive one in the future. Are these any good and what price can I expect to pay? Also, how do they compare to the Jackson DR7's? Does anyone have any other suggestions as far as a good inexpensive 7-string is concerned?

Thanks~

Re: Ibanez 7-Strings?

The 7620s with the Edge Pro trem are supposed to be GREAT guitars....the Jackson import 7 strings were pieces of crap for the most part, especially compared to the 600 level Ibanez's.

Comment

I had a RG7620 and I thought it was great even with teh stock pickups.
      Direct mounted pickups sounded better than the ones with pickguards like Universe.

Comment

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

hmm, weren't they in fact dimarzio blaze 2 ?

Comment

[ QUOTE ]
          [ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

hmm, weren't they in fact dimarzio blaze 2 ?

[/ QUOTE ]

Yes, they are Blaze 2's according to my research on them. I think the difference is the 7621's are string thru as opposed to having the Trem.

Comment

I have a 7620, and while I haven't pulled the pups I'm pretty sure they're not Blaze IIs but DiMarzio "New 7"s or something like that - JemSite says so as well. The Blazes are on the newer Prestige 7-string models IIRC.
            Anyway, my 7620 plays great. I was quite positively surprised and posted a rather lengthy review at www.sevenstring.org (helpful folks there btw) I'm not going to copy&paste in here [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
            I really like it and play it a lot. I'll probably replace the pickups in the future, but the guitar itself is quite nice, except for the plain Jane appearance. No binding, plastic dot inlays (yuck! MSRP 1300$...).

Comment

Do you want a trem or not?
              Unleash the fury.....Texas style!

Comment

[ QUOTE ]
                Do you want a trem or not?

[/ QUOTE ]