Wild Card 6 question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wild Card 6 question

I've been looking at some Wild Card 6's online and on a hunch, I searched "Charvel" on Aliexpress ( known for cheap fakes), and sure enough...there are fake 6's on there that look pretty damn good. I'm far from a Charvel expert and I'm looking for advice on how to spot a fake. When it comes to a strat I can spot a fake pretty quickly, but not so much some Charvels. One thing I did notice was that the Seymour Duncan lettering on the pickups of the fakes looked a little off. Any sure fire details to check and avoid getting ripped off on the used market? Thanks for any insight.

Everything on that site looks fake.

Comment

Oh yeah, everything in there is. Looking on how to spot a fake that might be for sale somewhere else, but originally came from a site like that.

The Demartini crossed swords look fake as hell on there, but to me, the Wild Card 6's weren't so obvious.

Comment

This thread about the crossed swords points out some good features. im sure others will have more input

Comment

I have a Charvel wild card 6 dreamsicle that I picked up this summer off Craig's List - great guitar! Here's a couple pics of an original Charvel and few things to spot on the fake ones:

-The color on the Charvel is candy tangerine, which is a nice brilliant color, especially in the light. The color on the fake looks lighter in color.
          -The Charvel has a stamped neck plate with "Made in Japan". The fake has a blank chrome neckplate.
          -The Charvel has a chrome hardtail bridge. The fake has a standard vtrem bridge.
          -The Charvel has a truss rod adjust at the heel of the neck. The fake has a truss rod adjust carved out on the headstock near the nut.