Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Last of the imports

Hey Tekky and all my import pals,
    What did they call this late-model, trans-blue and maple bodied beauty? Journeyman? Standard?

From what I was told, this is one of the last imports before Charvel went all USA-made again. The company intentionally removed the Charvel neckplates and replaced them with blank plates and stickers. Stamped it USED too.
    There's a marketing and/or legal story behind it. I heard the whole story at the shop I bought it from but I didn't pay much attention. Perhaps one of you guys can explain it better.

I got it for my daughter because she outgrew her mini-Strat. Now she's into cheerleading and has retired from guitar. It's a flawless, simple guitar with a beautiful finish. It plays really nicely. Nice "real" Duncans too. Once I get some better details, I'll edit the page and it's going to the classified section.
    Sorry my pics suck. "I'm a doctor not a papparazzi Jim!"

Standard iirc. great necks on those, by the way

Comment

I've got that exact model and colour except there is no "USED" stamp and it had a Charvel numbered plate. Its an amazing guitar, although I had to get the fret wire sanded down a tad and the volume pot replaced from new, but apart from that(!) amazing player.

Comment

Looks very good, did the shop put that used stamp on the back?

Comment

I bought a Jackson AT2T (bolt-on, Japan-made, with 3 tuners per side headstock) off ebay a few yrs back that had the same "USED" stamp on the headstock. It also had a blank neckplate with I think the same kind of serial number on a sticker. Not sure if this was in the period as this Charvel, but wondered what the motive was with the stamp on the Jackon import?
          Anyway, I ended up trading it at GC for a used Soldano 2x12...I made out on that deal!
          "Your work is ingenius…it’s quality work….and there are simply too many notes…that’s all, just cut a few, and it’ll be perfect."